Monks In Maroon

I just realised that I didn’t share the pictures of monks I saw on the streets of Dharamsala and McLeod Ganj. But better late than never. So here you go… Monks in maroons as seen in the hills of Himachal.

IMG_5008

Monks in Maroon

Monks in maroon

Monks in maroon

Monks in maroon

Monks in maroon

Monks in maroon

Monks in maroon

Monks in maroon

Monks in maroon

Monks in maroon

Monks in maroon

Monks in maroon

Monks in maroon

I always imagined monks as ascetics who keep to themselves, away from the materialistic life, spending most of their time in prayers and meditation. But I was delightfully surprised to see them hanging out at coffee shops, greeting tourists, spending time with their non-monk friends, talking on mobile phones and just generally living a very normal life.

Have you visited Dharamsala? I miss the momos they sell on the streets there.

***

I visited Dharamsala and McLeod Ganj in September last year. You may also like to read the other stories that I shared earlier – Streets of Himachal.

***

If you like this blog, please do share it with your friends and families. You can also follow the Suitcase via Facebook | Twitter | Instagram.

